Hereford’s Black and White House Museum Opens

Coach Operator Information Bulletin
 
Hereford’s Black and White House Museum Opens
Following a major refurbishment and re-fit, Hereford’s Black and White House Museum (formerly known as ‘The Old House’) will be officially opened in the presence of Colonel John Fox’s Regiment of Foote and civic dignitaries on Saturday 1st April.
Located close to both the main coach drop-off point on Broad Street and Hereford Cathedral, this distinctive landmark building provides coach operators, group organisers and travel companies with an unmissable and welcoming meeting point right at the heart of Hereford’s recently pedestrianised city centre.
Housed in an original Jacobean Town House that started life in 1621, the new museum is part of Hereford Council’s strategy for encouraging visitors and shoppers to stay longer in the city centre.
The museum’s ground floor provides free access to a reception area and shop offering a wide range of souvenirs and local craft products, along with a model of Hereford city centre in the 17th century.
The first floor includes a formal dining parlour, a huge open fireplace and a room where visiting children can dress up as butcher’s apprentices and kitchen maids. The second floor has a bedchamber with an original 17th century bed for visitors to try out for themselves and another activity area and dressing up room for children.
There is a small entry fee, just £2.50 for adults (18 years and over) and £1.50 for children.
Museum Supervisor: Julia Radburn  E:   jradburn2@herefordshire.gov.uk T:   01432 383599 or 260694
Museum information, visit www.blackandwhitehouse.org
Tourist information: www.visitherefordshire.co.uk/explore/Hereford-area.aspx
Coach information: www.herefordshire.gov.uk/info/200168/parking/131/council_car_parks
Sender: Philip Cooke T: 01452 500663 E: philip@thedmg.co.uk